Many of my followers already know Praise Hallelujah. Some have seen him personally, some have his off-spring, many have read about him in my book: “The Horse That Wouldn’t Trot” which is a compilation of my life with horses. PH as he was affectionately known had a magnificent life. He was one of those “horses of a life time.”

PRAISE HALLELUJAH

April 28, 1988-February 9, 2016

Praise Hallelujah was born as “Mr. Macho” on Harlinsdale Farm in Franklin, TN. Sired by Prides’ Hallelujah and out of a mare by Pride’s Gold Coin he was destined to become a much loved and appreciated breeding sire and Plantation Pleasure show horse. I believe a “Higher Power” saved him from becoming a “Big Lick” show horse, shown with pads, chains and sored, by an injury when he was at a big sale in Tennessee for yearlings. Due to a front pastern injury, Mr. Harlin sent him to Sherri Szucs in Ohio, who was a pleasure horse trainer.

After the retirement of my stallion, Supreme Xanadu, who earned the Supreme Versatility Award  (The highest award given to Tennessee Walking pleasure horses who showed in versatility events and garnered a certain number of show points), I was looking for another show horse, one that would win at the “big” shows. I heard tales about a special young horse in Sherri’s stable, saw him at a Michigan show and began drooling and dreaming. Eventually, right before Sherri took him to the biggest show for Tennessee Walking Horses at that time in Shelbyville, TN, our family purchased him. Mr. Macho won the Two Year Old Pleasure Class, Division B under my name: Rose Miller.

I changed his name to Praise Hallelujah because I wanted to give honor to God who had made this wonderful horse each time he got a ribbon in a show. As a three-year-old he won many awards under the guidance of Ralph Lakes. In his fourth year, he became an “Amateur Owned and Trained” horse and the Miller family set sail to compete in some of the biggest shows for Tennessee Walking horses. I will not try to share all his awards, but “Praise Hallelujah” was called over the loudspeaker many, many times. He was a fantastic horse in the show ring, but doing the famous “victory pass” was his bug-a-boo, and he never, ever got over it.

When he was five, I began breeding him. He had natural talent, bred in, and not painted on as in the soring that was so rampant at the time. Many of his offspring went on to become champions in their own right, or became much loved pleasure riding horses. This was important because in breeding for SHOW animals, the genetics of the walking horse had been changed enough that many would not do the famous gliding smooth gait that folks wanted to ride any more.

In 2005, when he was seventeen, I stopped breeding him. The plight of horses being sent to slaughter was becoming more public. Until that time, it was “not spoken of.” Sadly, even I didn’t think too much about it. In good conscience I could no longer bring anymore babies into the world. The horses I had at that time I committed to keeping until they were safely over The Rainbow Bridge. To the best of my records, he sired 116 foals, and earned the nick name: Big Daddy. I had rescued several of his offspring from bad circumstances and just did not want to be responsible for more who might have bad lives. He was gelded and turned out with his beloved mares into the green pastures he loved.

In 2012 our family of people, dogs, cats, mules and horses moved to Prescott, Arizona. Hallelujah was twenty-four and enjoyed the milder climate. He and his daughter, Sunday Praise, were inseparable. As is the case with many old horses, getting up became more difficult and over the last several years, he needed human assistance, and consequently, he seldom lay down.  As I was cleaning the mud from his body from yet another slip and fall and rescue just several days previously, I told him he “could go anytime he was ready, but please make it easy.” He just seemed old, tired and hanging on, but for what he did not know.

The very next day, he went down again, we do not know why or how, but we found him later. This time we could not help him, there was just no “try” left. His passing over was peaceful, thanks to our wonderful vet, Dr. Nolte. He lay quietly waiting, Dr. Nolte said his heart rate was normal, it was as though he were sleeping. Hallelujah was ready; I knew it was time, but man, what a big hole that horse leaves in my heart. I think the other equines knew it was his time too; they all seemed accepting, but also unusually quiet. Today, looking out the window to their paddock there is emptiness. Hallelujah left a big hole there also. Sunday stands in the spot where he lay for the last time, the mules run, she runs a few feet, but comes back to that spot. She will miss him greatly, I know.

Praise Hallelujah will be cremated. He left this morning and will return some days later in a beautiful box. Some ashes will be sprinkled where he lay beside a beautiful boulder Bob will place there, some I will keep with my growing collection in my office.

Rest in Peace, dear horse. You were loved by many. I am grateful for the time…and the times we shared. It was quite a journey!

I shall see you later…

If anyone wishes to read a free PDF of The Horse That Wouldn’t Trot, sent to your email, please contact me: rosemiller@mtecom.net

 

